How Do I Meet People?

At Olivet we use a traditional approach to Bible study providing Sunday School every Sunday morning before our Worship service, beginning at 9:30am. Classes have been organized to appeal to many different individuals from infant to seniors. These groups meet for Bible study, fellowship, and mission outreach. Also, Sunday School is a great way to connect spiritually and communally with the body of Christ. Leader/member contact information has been provided so that you can reach out for more information about each class.

Nursery Ministry

Each Sunday morning, Young children (infant to age 2) Babies are loved and cared for and taught simple Bible Stories.

A Nursery is provided during our 10:30am worship service for ages birth thru 5 years old.

Nursery Department Coordinator- Michelle Keener (mkeener@obcnc.org)

Preschool Ministry

Each Sunday morning, Young children (age 2 thru grade K) will discover what a kid’s adventure with God is all about. Bible lessons are taught in such a way that every child gets to participate and learn with fun, hands-on Bible activities such as music and art.

Preschool Department Coordinator-Sandy Cox (scox@obcnc.org)

Children’s Ministry

Each Sunday morning, children (grades 1-4) learn a love for God’s Word.  Bible lessons are taught in such a way that every child gets to participate and learn Bible stories that follows the Children Desiring God curriculum fun, hands-on Bible activities such as music and art.

Children’s Department Coordinator – Lorie Barker (lbarker@obcnc.org)

Intermediate Students Ministry

Olivet has organized a group uniquely designed just for tweeners, called the Intermediate Department. Students (grades 5-8) participate in bible study, fellowship and outreach that is focused at their age of development. Intermediates are challenged to search their heart for a spiritual path rooted in truth in an environment that is warm and encouraging. Many opportunities for fellowship with other group members help to provide these brothers and sisters in Christ a group to belong to as they grow stronger in their faith. Solid bible teaching, scripture memorization, and prayer is the foundation. Intermediates  are encouraged to seek Gods calling, act out their convictions, and to seek a life-long relationship with God.

Intermediate Department Coordinator- Chad Spencer (cspencer@obcnc.org)

Young Adults (Youth) Ministry

Each Sunday morning, High School students (grades 9-12) meet to study God’s word, fellowship and have outreach that focus on helping people in the community and around the world.  They participate in several fellowship activities which include bowling, bonfires, Christian concerts, summer trip to Caswell Beach and of course eating.  They are also involved with missions like Samaritans Purse Shoe Boxes each year and other mission trips.

Youth Department Coordinator – Ed Jarnac (ejarnac@obcnc.org)

Single Adults

Single Adults seeking a spiritual community of other believers in similar life situations; college/career and single. This class comes together weekly to study God’s word confirming it’s relevance in the life of all people at every age. The opportunity for members to fellowship together and join/host events and social activities with other Christian Singles from other local churches and Associational Events. The class will seek to maintain relationships with members that are not able to attend every Sunday due to college attendance or work requirements.

Class Instructor: Chad Keener and Phil Brown (ckeener@obcnc.org)

Adults

Our adult class is a variety of members; singles, couples, of all ages. This class invites members to dive into scripture and challenges individuals to apply the teachings to their life. Group discussion is encouraged both in the class and at other gatherings that this class participate. Meals and other fellowship opportunities are planned outside of the classroom to encourage believers to grow and connect.  

Class Teacher:  Billy Poindexter (bpoindexter@obcnc.org)

Women’s Bible Groups

Olivet provides three different Women’s Sunday School classes. Each of these classes provide their own unique Bible study experience. Study, Fellowship, Missions and Outreach are all apart of the time shared together in spiritual advancement.

Woman’s Class #1 – Doris Eades (deades@obcnc.org)

Woman’s Class #2 – 

Men’s Bible Groups

Two Classes of Christian Men are available to men. Our men only classes invite men to study and discuss scripture as it relates to issues men are dealing with. These classes also incorporate outreach and mission projects as well as fellowship.

Men’s Class #1 – Ernest Stewart (estewart@obcnc.org)

Men’s Class #2 – Jeff Isenhour (jisenhour@obcnc.org) 

Married Couples

One of the largest of Sunday School Classes is taught by Roger Elliott. This class meets in our fellowship hall each Sunday morning. The married couples class combines rich bible teaching with fellowship opportunities and outreach within and outside the church body.

Instructor – Roger Elliott (relliott@obcnc.org)